Home  BATS School of Improv  Adult Summer Sessions
 

Adult Summer Sessions

Our Adult Summer Program offers a range of intensive workshops, many of which we only offer during the summer! It's a chance for in-depth study for up to four consecutive days per session with peers from around the Bay Area, country, and the world! 

The flexible schedule of our Adult Summer Program makes it easy (and affordable!) to study with us. We offer workshops for all levels featuring our talented teaching staff as well as world-renowned guest coaches. Past guest coaches have included TheatresportsTM creator Keith Johnstone, “Blind Date” creator Rebecca Northan, and author of Improv Wisdom, Patricia Ryan Madson.

We strongly encourage advance registration as the summer programs tend to sell out every year.

 

What you get...

  • Improv training with some of the best coaches in the world
  • Two tickets to any show during the BATS Summer Improv Festival
  • Healthy snacks, water, coffee, and tea
  • One of San Francisco's best views of the Golden Gate Bridge (it's right outside the theater!)
  • Summer Session T-Shirt
  • Discounts for early and multiple class registrations
  • A whole lot of new friends!

 

We offer wait lists for sold out classes in the event of a student cancellation, so email us to be added!


Upcoming Adult Summer Sessions:

Effortless Story with William Hall | 7/31/2014 6:00 PM | Bayfront Theater
Improv for Everybody: the Ethics of Playing Together with Patricia Ryan Madson | 8/7/2014 2:00 PM | Bayfront Theater
The Truth with Zoe Galvez | 8/8/2014 10:00 AM | Bayfront Theater
3-Day Intensive - Elements of Long Form with Dave Dennison | 8/15/2014 10:00 AM | Bayfront Theater
3-Day Intensive - Foundation 1 with Chris Sams | 8/15/2014 10:00 AM | Bayfront Theater
Exploring Emotion with Rafe Chase | 8/21/2014 10:00 AM | Bayfront Theater
Playing the Lead with Tim Orr | 8/22/2014 10:00 AM | Bayfront Theater
Special Effects with Ben Johnson | 8/23/2014 10:00 AM | Bayfront Theater
Stage Combat and Intimacy with Diane Rachel | 8/24/2014 10:00 AM | Bayfront Theater
Improvising Brecht's Epic Theatre with Maria Sommer & T.J. Weiss | 8/29/2014 10:00 AM | Bayfront Theater
Music Bootcamp with Lisa Rowland | 8/29/2014 10:00 AM | Bayfront Theater

 
 
 

Improv Classes

Improv for Shy People with Ken Robertson 
Saturday, 4/19/2014 11:00 AM

3-Day Foundation 1 Intensive with Laura Derry 
Friday, 4/25/2014 10:00 AM

Foundation 1 in Palo Alto with John Remak 
Tuesday, 4/29/2014 7:00 PM

Stage Combat with Real Swords with Guest Coach Joe Lucas
Tuesday, 4/29/2014 7:00 PM

Studio Scenework with Regina Saisi 
Thursday, 5/1/2014 7:00 PM

Foundation 1 with Rebecca Stockley 
Saturday, 5/3/2014 11:00 AM

Performing Improvised Star Trek with Laura Derry 
Sunday, 5/4/2014 2:30 PM

Foundation 3 with Laura Derry 
Tuesday, 5/6/2014 7:00 PM

Studio Scenework in Palo Alto with Kasey Klemm 
Thursday, 5/8/2014 7:00 PM

Performing Improvised Plays with Ben Johnson 
Tuesday, 5/13/2014 7:00 PM

Foundation 1 with Rebecca Poretsky 
Wednesday, 5/14/2014 7:00 PM

Foundation 2 in Palo Alto with John Remak 
Thursday, 5/15/2014 7:00 PM

Foundation 2 with John Remak 
Wednesday, 5/21/2014 7:00 PM

Studio Scenework with Dave Dennison 
Thursday, 5/29/2014 7:00 PM

3-Day Foundation 2 Intensive with Ben Johnson 
Friday, 5/30/2014 10:00 AM

Foundation 1 with Lisa Safran 
Sunday, 6/1/2014 11:00 AM

Intro to Improv with Ben Johnson 
Monday, 6/16/2014 7:00 PM

Foundation 1 with Ben Johnson 
Tuesday, 6/17/2014 7:00 PM

Foundation 2 with Rebecca Poretsky 
Saturday, 6/21/2014 11:00 AM

Improv Singing: Rhythm and Style with David Norfleet (Music) 
Saturday, 6/21/2014 2:30 PM

Performing Theatresports with Ken Robertson 
Sunday, 6/22/2014 2:30 PM

Foundation 2 in Palo Alto with Chris Sams 
Tuesday, 6/24/2014 7:00 PM

Foundation 3 with Dave Dennison 
Tuesday, 6/24/2014 7:00 PM

Foundation 2 with Chris Sams 
Wednesday, 6/25/2014 7:00 PM

Studio Scenework with John Remak 
Thursday, 6/26/2014 7:00 PM

Foundation 1 in Palo Alto with Andy Sarouhan 
Thursday, 6/26/2014 7:00 PM

Youth Summer School, Session 1 with Laura Derry 
Monday, 7/7/2014 9:00 AM

Youth Summer School, Session 2 with Laura Derry 
Monday, 7/14/2014 9:00 AM

Teen Summer School: Improv Ensemble Session 1 with Laura Derry 
Monday, 7/21/2014 9:00 AM

Teen Summer School: Improv Ensemble Session 2 with Laura Derry 
Monday, 7/28/2014 9:00 AM

Effortless Story with William Hall 
Thursday, 7/31/2014 6:00 PM

Improv for Everybody: the Ethics of Playing Together with Patricia Ryan Madson
Thursday, 8/7/2014 2:00 PM

The Truth with Zoe Galvez 
Friday, 8/8/2014 10:00 AM

3-Day Intensive - Foundation 1 with Chris Sams 
Friday, 8/15/2014 10:00 AM

3-Day Intensive - Elements of Long Form with Dave Dennison 
Friday, 8/15/2014 10:00 AM

Exploring Emotion with Rafe Chase 
Thursday, 8/21/2014 10:00 AM

Playing the Lead with Tim Orr 
Friday, 8/22/2014 10:00 AM

Special Effects with Ben Johnson 
Saturday, 8/23/2014 10:00 AM

Stage Combat and Intimacy with Diane Rachel 
Sunday, 8/24/2014 10:00 AM

Music Bootcamp with Lisa Rowland 
Friday, 8/29/2014 10:00 AM

Improvising Brecht's Epic Theatre with Maria Sommer & T.J. Weiss
Friday, 8/29/2014 10:00 AM

Meet BATS’ Coaches:

View bios of our coaches