Home  BATS School of Improv  Studio Level
 

BATS Studio Classes

Questions? Contact us at (415) 474-6776 or registrar@improv.org

For students wishing to continue on a "performance" track at BATS, we offer our Studio Level classes, in which we teach stagecraft, scene building and delve further into specific improv skills.

We offer wait lists for sold out classes in the event of a student cancellation, so
email us to be added (please include your contact information and the name/course # of your preferred class.)

Studio Scenework Classes

Classes are offered once per week for 6 weeks. This workshop is where the student hones his/her performance skills. Students graduate from Studio Scenework when they can successfully negotiate scenes demonstrating these skills on a consistent basis: being seen and heard, listening, ensemble, character, acting, and being fun to play with. The student moves out of Studio Scenework when the coach, Associate Dean and Dean deem the student ready to advance into the Graduate program.

Prerequisite: Foundations 3
Six-week series / 10 student maximum / Tuition: $329

Upcoming Studio Scenework Classes:

Studio Scenework with Regina Saisi | 5/1/2014 7:00 PM | Studio 210
Studio Scenework in Palo Alto with Kasey Klemm | 5/8/2014 7:00 PM | Cubberley Community Center
Studio Scenework with Dave Dennison | 5/29/2014 7:00 PM | Studio 210
Studio Scenework with John Remak | 6/26/2014 7:00 PM | Studio 210

Studio Specialty Classes

Classes are offered once a week for 2-4 weeks, and teach an in-depth variety of skills to strengthen the student scenework. Classes are offered in Character, Acting, Genres, Where, Voice and Stage Presence.

Prerequisite: Completed or concurrent Studio Scenework enrollment
Duration and tuition vary by class / 14 student maximum

Upcoming Studio Specialty Classes:

Performing Improvised Star Trek with Laura Derry | 5/4/2014 2:30 PM | Bayfront Theater
Performing Improvised Plays with Ben Johnson | 5/13/2014 7:00 PM | Bayfront Theater
Performing Theatresports with Ken Robertson | 6/22/2014 2:30 PM | Bayfront Theater

 
 
 

Improv Classes

Young Improvisers' Ensemble (Teens) with Laura Derry 
Friday, 4/18/2014 4:00 PM

Improv for Shy People with Ken Robertson 
Saturday, 4/19/2014 11:00 AM

3-Day Foundation 1 Intensive with Laura Derry 
Friday, 4/25/2014 10:00 AM

Foundation 1 in Palo Alto with John Remak 
Tuesday, 4/29/2014 7:00 PM

Studio Scenework with Regina Saisi 
Thursday, 5/1/2014 7:00 PM

Foundation 1 with Rebecca Stockley 
Saturday, 5/3/2014 11:00 AM

Performing Improvised Star Trek with Laura Derry 
Sunday, 5/4/2014 2:30 PM

Foundation 3 with Laura Derry 
Tuesday, 5/6/2014 7:00 PM

Studio Scenework in Palo Alto with Kasey Klemm 
Thursday, 5/8/2014 7:00 PM

Performing Improvised Plays with Ben Johnson 
Tuesday, 5/13/2014 7:00 PM

Foundation 1 with Rebecca Poretsky 
Wednesday, 5/14/2014 7:00 PM

Foundation 2 in Palo Alto with John Remak 
Thursday, 5/15/2014 7:00 PM

Foundation 2 with John Remak 
Wednesday, 5/21/2014 7:00 PM

Studio Scenework with Dave Dennison 
Thursday, 5/29/2014 7:00 PM

Foundation 1 with Lisa Safran 
Sunday, 6/1/2014 11:00 AM

Intro to Improv with Ben Johnson 
Monday, 6/16/2014 7:00 PM

Foundation 1 with Ben Johnson 
Tuesday, 6/17/2014 7:00 PM

Foundation 2 with Rebecca Poretsky 
Saturday, 6/21/2014 11:00 AM

Improv Singing: Rhythm and Style with David Norfleet (Music) 
Saturday, 6/21/2014 2:30 PM

Performing Theatresports with Ken Robertson 
Sunday, 6/22/2014 2:30 PM

Foundation 2 in Palo Alto with Chris Sams 
Tuesday, 6/24/2014 7:00 PM

Foundation 3 with Dave Dennison 
Tuesday, 6/24/2014 7:00 PM

Foundation 2 with Chris Sams 
Wednesday, 6/25/2014 7:00 PM

Studio Scenework with John Remak 
Thursday, 6/26/2014 7:00 PM

Foundation 1 in Palo Alto with Andy Sarouhan 
Thursday, 6/26/2014 7:00 PM

Youth Summer School, Session 1 with Laura Derry 
Monday, 7/7/2014 9:00 AM

Youth Summer School, Session 2 with Laura Derry 
Monday, 7/14/2014 9:00 AM

Teen Summer School: Improv Ensemble Session 1 with Laura Derry 
Monday, 7/21/2014 9:00 AM

Teen Summer School: Improv Ensemble Session 2 with Laura Derry 
Monday, 7/28/2014 9:00 AM

Effortless Story with William Hall 
Thursday, 7/31/2014 6:00 PM

Improv for Everybody: the Ethics of Playing Together with Patricia Ryan Madson
Thursday, 8/7/2014 2:00 PM

The Truth with Zoe Galvez 
Friday, 8/8/2014 10:00 AM

3-Day Intensive - Foundation 1 with Chris Sams 
Friday, 8/15/2014 10:00 AM

3-Day Intensive - Elements of Long Form with Dave Dennison 
Friday, 8/15/2014 10:00 AM

Exploring Emotion with Rafe Chase 
Thursday, 8/21/2014 10:00 AM

Playing the Lead with Tim Orr 
Friday, 8/22/2014 10:00 AM

Special Effects with Ben Johnson 
Saturday, 8/23/2014 10:00 AM

Stage Combat and Intimacy with Diane Rachel 
Sunday, 8/24/2014 10:00 AM

Music Bootcamp with Lisa Rowland 
Friday, 8/29/2014 10:00 AM

Improvising Brecht's Epic Theatre with Maria Sommer & T.J. Weiss
Friday, 8/29/2014 10:00 AM

Meet BATS’ Coaches:

View bios of our coaches